Hong Kong Bans Poultry from Parts of South Korea

After news broke out that South Korean government confirmed infected poultry farm 300 kms. south of Seoul, nearby areas has acted to secure it free from the virus. Special Administrative Region of People’s Republic of China is the first to declare the suspension of importation of poultry products from parts of South Korea.

The areas where poultry products are banned to enter Hong Kong are Jeollabuk-do Province, Gyeongsangnam-do Province and Daegu Metropolitan City.

This was issued by the Center for Food Safety of Hong Kong after they received notification from the World Organization for Animal Health.

For the last nine months, Hong Kong has imported over 77 tons of chickens and 390,000 poultry eggs.

CFS has also notified South Korea regarding the matter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *